One Bag Nation

Take Time to Take Stock

Posted on: February 3, 2009

For a while now I’ve been using a modified version of simplemom’s Daily Docket to help me manage my schedule. Working part-time from home makes me feel scattered, and my Hour by Hour plan helps me set realistic expectations for my day and my week.

Each day I schedule time in my Hour by Hour to Take Stock. I pull out my Docket, review what I’ve planned for the day, then take stock of what I’ve accomplished and what still needs to be done. Checking in like this gives me a much-needed rest from the computer (or housework, or laundry, etc) and allows me to re-think my plans – if necessary – or give myself a big pat on the back for sticking to my knitting and being productive.

I’ve discovered that if I don’t pause and review, the day is gone before I know it and I’m frustrated that I didn’t accomplish what I had set out to do.

How do you stay on track as your day unfolds?

2 Responses to "Take Time to Take Stock"

Hope you’re alright over there, i’ve been checking in every now and then and hoping you’re just too busy to post rather than anything being wrong. I’m missing reading about your organisational ways!

I love this. Wow. When I finish a task, I’ve started pausing at the end to enjoy the feeling of completion. When my to-do list is a mile long, pausing to celebrate is sooo encouraging.

I’ve been thinking about you lately and am so glad to see you’re still blogging. I’m not at MyOrganizedBiz anymore, but am still enjoying the path of organizing!

Warm thoughts your way –
Jennifer

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

