One Bag Nation

Lipstick Toss

Posted on: April 6, 2008

I recently read that dark lipstick is not flattering as you get older. I decided on the spot to make getting rid of my old lipstick my next decluttering project, and I pulled them all out of the cupboard. You can see by the photo that I had a pretty good pile; I have to confess that many of them were at least 10 years old, and many of them were definitely too dark . . . remember the days of ghoulish purples? Had these ever looked good on me??

All the lipstick I owned as of March 2008

The writer (Charla Krupp) recommended pink (and specifically mentioned Clinique “Bamboo” as a universally flattering color). There was one shade in my stash that fit the bill for light/pink and I discovered I had no fewer than four tubes of this shade – by four different manufacturers. I bought the first tube when I had a makeover (in 1997!) at a Bobbi Brown counter, so I figured it was still a good color for me. I put two of the pinks (called “Mystery” by Prescriptives and “Twig” by MAC) in my purse, and the other two in the medicine chest (called “Brown” by Bobbi Brown, and I’m too old to be able to read the Neutrogena label) and tossed the rest. In the spirit of my quest for order, I’m committed to using up at least one of these tubes before I buy a new one, but that Clinique “Bamboo” is calling to me . . . . it’s an awfully nice color.

4 Responses to "Lipstick Toss"

Wow. That’s a big pile of lipsticks. 🙂

I don’t know about darker lipsticks. I have a fairly light skin and dark hair and I do find that a red lipstick with a blue undertone looks best on me. Pink just makes me look pale. And those purples lipsticks! OMG they were horrendous.

Decluttering cosmetics is fun. I have way too many mascaras. And I rarely use mascara! I think you just inspired me to do some decluttering of my own. 🙂

I have other old make-up I need to toss too. I think holding on to it reminds me of my “glamorous” days as a career woman!

Twig by MAC is one of the finest, most universally flattering colors out there! I’m never without a tube of it!

The Teenager spends about an hour a day in the bathroom, carefully applying her cosmetics, and when she comes out, she is model-perfect. The hilarity of it all is that she was model-perfect when she went IN!

One of the nice things about getting a bit older is that I no longer apply a different, “better” persona with my makeup, and so I don’t need as much of it anymore! Good for you for tossing what you don’t need, and keeping (or buying!) only the things that make you feel beautiful!

I can’t believe I missed this post. This is incredible! I don’t think I’ve owned that many lipsticks in my entire life.

Leave a Reply

