One Bag Nation

What Works, What Doesn’t: 2

Posted on: April 17, 2008

What Works

I’ve been doing my laundry on a schedule since I discovered flylady several years ago. I set up the schedule around laundering my daughter’s nap mat cover from her daycare so it would always be ready to go – and I’m still using the same system, 5 years later.

This means I do “lights” on Saturday, “whites” on Tuesday and “darks” on Thursday. I choose one other day to do sheets, bath towels, kitchen towels, etc. as needed. As a working mother, I have found this to be a lifesaver. I don’t even have to think about it anymore; once it became a routine, I was set! Of course there are times when I get off-schedule (travelling, illness, losing my focus, etc.) but I find it very easy to get right back on track. And it prevents spending the weekend doing laundry. And now for . . .

What Doesn’t Work

One terrible habit I’m still trying to break is not putting the clean laundry away promptly. That basket will sit for days sometimes! I don’t know why I do this; I guess putting laundry away is tedious, and who wants to do something tedious, especially when you have to do it over and over?

I’m about to go put load of laundry in the dryer and I’ll have just enough time to put it away before I have to go out!

4 Responses to "What Works, What Doesn’t: 2"

To me, laundry is always tedious, no matter what. And I am very bad at doing it. I like your system. I might give it a try.

hey saw your comment over at unclutter!
I have this system and it helps me, might work for you?
I have 4 kids
2 boys 11/9 and twin girls 8
the boys each have a basket and the girls share one
They each have a day to do laundry~all in one load!
You have to have enough socks, and underwear for one week.
oldest-monday
2nd son-tuesday
twins-wed
thurs-I do two loads
Friday sheets/towels

they put it in before school, I reboot to the dryer and they put away after school, works great

Hi Anne,
Thanks for this suggestion. My daughter is a bit younger, and I just put a hamper in her closet a couple of weeks ago, to encourage her not to throw her dirty clothes on the floor . . . the funny thing is, she loves having her own hamper – or “hampster” as she called it a few years ago.

I would love to get her doing her own laundry; that would be a good routine to add next year when she starts first grade.

My hat is off to you – four kids – I might go nuts!! though I wish I had another . . . .

Thanks. Sounds like a great system!
4 kids, wow. I should listen to you more. I respect you more than ever now. 🙂
(I only have 2 and can barely manage the chaos they bring)

Leave a Reply

