One Bag Nation

You Can Do (almost) Anything for 15 Minutes

Posted on: April 18, 2008

but if you can’t, try just five. Sometimes even 15 minutes seems overwhelming.

I routinely do “Five-Minute Room Rescues” (inspired by flylady, as was the title of this post); I set the kitchen timer and buzz through a room, picking up, wiping the surfaces, sweeping, even vacuuming sometimes. I can make a noticeable difference in a very short amount of time, and it feels really good to have the house tidy – in fact, I sometimes even feel serene . . .

6 Responses to "You Can Do (almost) Anything for 15 Minutes"

Thank you Alik. I think we’re on the same track. I’ve been reading The Now Habit which is helping me overcome procrastination by working in 30-minute blocks and promising myself I’ll do something fun everyday.

Here is The Now Habit on amazon.

New reader to your blog (found you through Unclutterer’s recent comment flood, and clicked through to your site), thought i’d say hi and also chip in that 15-min motivations have really worked for me too! I forget to use these things though, so the reminder is appreciated… It works fantastically especially if there’s something i have to do that i *really* don’t want to do. I promise i only have to do 15 min, and an hour later i suddenly realise i have finished the task! Whoo! 😛

Hi Camilla,
Isn’t it a wonderful trick? There aren’t too many household chores I look forward to (luckily I look forward to the results) so this is a lifesaver for me.

I’ve heard the same trick suggested for exercising and I bet it works well there too.

Thanks for reading and commenting!

Ooh yes, i use it for working out too! That’s another thing that makes me feel great afterwards, but have real difficulty making myself get started with. A combination of “just 15 minutes and then you can stop” mentality and upbeat music usually does the trick!

Leave a Reply

