One Bag Nation

What Works, What Doesn’t: Meal Plans

Posted on: April 25, 2008

What Works

Sometime between Saturday and Monday, I decide what we’ll be having for dinner for the week.  I look in the freezer and the cupboards, pull out some recipes, and make my grocery list. Lately I’ve been aiming to try one new recipe every week; if I like something, I add it to my recipe binder (which was inspired by a post at unclutterer).

I can’t even remember how I managed dinner before my daughter was born, but since her arrival, and since discovering flylady, I can’t imagine walking in the door without a clue about what’s for dinner. There are times when I need to stop at the store to pick up a particular ingredient – something I want fresh or I’ve seen is on sale – but for the most part I have everything in hand when the week begins.

I should admit that this comes particularly easily for me because I’m an experienced cook with an eye for good recipes. I don’t do a lot of fancy cooking though, just healthy food that comes together easily. One of my favorite sources for recipes is Martha Stewart’s Everyday Food, but I’m just as likely to turn to my old friend The Joy of Cooking or my collection of recipes from Cooking Light.

My meal plans make weeknights much more enjoyable and relaxing, and definitely contribute to serenity and peace of mind. Now if I could just find someone to come do all the clean-up, because What Doesn’t Work is leaving that mess for the morning . . . .

4 Responses to "What Works, What Doesn’t: Meal Plans"

This is one of the hardest things for me. I am NOT an experienced cook. I’m adequate, but not much more. Meal planning is something I keep trying to figure out a good system for.

Hey Stimey,
Just visited your blogs – love ’em both! Thanks for the link. I had landed on the Pyramid once before in my travels.

Some people have a list of meals (maybe two weeks worth) that they rotate through over and over. I can’t stand the thought of that, but it certainly simplifies things.

You should also check out Menu Mailer by Leanne Ely.

My hat is off to you as a mom of three! I’d be a madwoman.

I also need help with dinner. It’s all about the planning, that I’ve figured out, but I haven’t managed to stick to actually sitting down on the weekend to plan for the week. I find that if I make dinner, I feel great, but that then other things don’t get done. I will try your suggestions.

Sonora,
I’ve been thinking about devoting more time on my blog to this subject, because I think it’s a problem for a lot of folks – and it’s one area of my life that I feel I have (mostly) under control!

Leave a Reply

