One Bag Nation

Taking My Own Advice – Just Five Minutes

Posted on: May 12, 2008

The biggest, baddest mess in my house is in the basement. There’s the “holiday room” which is bursting with stuff not put away properly, and lots of “just in case’ gifts (this room is where my hoarder tendencies live); there’s the laundry room, which I say is the dirtiest room in the house; there’s my exercise corner with the treadmill and the TV (which is sitting precariously on top of an enormous old freezer); there’s whatever junk my husband has accumulated down there, and then there’s the middle, which is mostly kid stuff that needs to go.

I absolutely, positively hate working down there. I’ve tried to get myself to devote just 15 minutes a day to clearing out (I can do anything for 15 minutes, right?), and I never do it. Today I committed to just five minutes and I actually made some progress down there. I think I can continue to chip away at it, knowing I only have to spend five minutes at a time.

The payoff will be so enormous and will be a Giant Step on my journey for order, serenity and peace of mind.

2 Responses to "Taking My Own Advice – Just Five Minutes"

[…] journey is far from over (remember that awful basement?) but I hope with all my heart that along the way I’ve inspired or supported someone else in […]

[…] After a very unproductive week in my ongoing basement declutter project, we made some headway this […]

Leave a Reply

