One Bag Nation

My Internet Addiction

Posted on: May 13, 2008

My husband finally put it into words last night, and he’s right. I’m addicted to the internet.

Needless to say this is not doing much for my productivity. The one bright light is that I used to be addicted to internet window shopping; now I’m addicted to improving my blog. “Clicking around” is also very soothing somehow; I guess it requires so little real thought or effort, and if you’re at all a curious person the possibilities are endless . . .

So what to do? I can’t imagine giving it up entirely, though I know people who don’t have an internet connection at home. I suppose some kind of schedule or limits are in order – I feel like a wayward child!

If any of you, dear readers, have suggestions, please share!

5 Responses to "My Internet Addiction"

I can totally relate. Unfortunately, I don’t have the solution yet. I do make sure everything else – my “real job” (I work from home) and stuff around the house is taken care of before I indulge in the internets.

If you find a way to overcome this, do share it with us. 🙂

Sorry, no solution here, as I have the same problem. I think my husband is jealous of my blog…

Hi Kelly,
Yesterday I tried to frame the addiction as the same as reading magazines (which I really never do anymore). This seems fairly (haha) reasonable to me, since I’m trying to educate myself about the blogging world . . . I used to spend my time online shopping so this must be an improvement!

I’ve started using something called Rescue time to track my internet use and cut back. It’s free.

http://www.rescuetime.com/

I’d be afraid to find out how much time I waste online! How has it been working for you?

Leave a Reply

