One Bag Nation

The Basement Report: Day Five

Posted on: May 16, 2008

On Monday I posted about the worst organizing project I’m tackling: the disaster we call the basement.

I realized that committing to spending just 15 minutes a day down there was more than I could face, so I decided to aim for five minutes, every day.

How have I done? I’ve worked down there 3 out of the last 5 days, and I’m thrilled. It may be absurd, but the truth is that if I keep at it, even for just 5 minutes at a time, it will eventually get cleared out and cleaned up. And I’ve made more progress over the last five days than over the last five months.

Baby Steps, Baby Steps (as flylady would say) toward order, serenity and peace of mind.

4 Responses to "The Basement Report: Day Five"

Curious to know – do you limit it to 5 minutes every time, or do you sometimes stay there for longer?

I set a timer (upstairs) which keeps beeping at me, so I don’t stay very long past 5 minutes. I bet I will though, when I’ve gotten through some of the worst piles. And now that the weather is warmer and brighter it’s not quite so grim down there . . .

[…] getting the laundry done, making progress on clearing out my file drawer, going for a run, doing my five-minute declutter in the basement . . . oh well, a mother’s work is never done . . . and a little maple syrup never hurt […]

[…] a timer. One Bag Nation is working on cleaning out her basement, five minute a day, every day. If you have a spot you can’t bear the thought of tackling then […]

Leave a Reply

