One Bag Nation

The Basement Report: Day Ten

Posted on: May 22, 2008

Five minutes at a time, I’m making progress.

I’m tackling the “holiday room” first, where there is a jumble of wrapping paper, gifts, ornaments, cards, art supplies – and for some reason, ski and camping equipment. I’m bound and determined to have it all squared away by the time the holidays hit – or sooner!

I began by sorting the true holiday stuff (that’s Christmas AND Hanukkah AND Easter AND AND AND in our house) from the rest (birthday party stuff) and in the process hauling out the trash and recycling – that alone created some decent floor space and almost a tabletop where I can sort and organize the rest.

You can see from the photo that I have a lot of five minutes left, but it’s all good. I’ll keep posting photos as I go, and you’ll see the space won’t look so scary anymore!

3 Responses to "The Basement Report: Day Ten"

I’m proud of you. Seriously. Looks like this 5-minutes-at-a-time thing really works for you.

I think it does, and maybe when I get further along I’ll be able to tolerate longer stretches down there – 8 minutes?? 🙂

[…] The Basement Report: It’s Working! June 18, 2008 Filed under: reducing clutter — onebagnation @ 6:15 am Tags: basement organizing, decluttering, messy basement, organizing Yesterday I needed a gift bag and some tissue paper for the end-of-year gift for my daughter’s teacher. A few weeks ago I probably would have just bought them new, rather than face the mess in my basement. […]

Leave a Reply

