One Bag Nation

Crisp Sheets, Soft Pillows and Fresh Towels

Posted on: May 23, 2008

I’m staying in a hotel (alone!) for a few days, while I visit my brother who’s been in the hospital. Even though it is decidedly not a vacation or a fancy hotel, I feel totally pampered. It’s easy to keep my room tidy because it’s just me and I didn’t bring a lot of stuff. I can indulge my internet addiction and the guilty pleasure of TV – uninterrupted! – and stay up as late as I want.

I’m in a very small city in New England whose heyday – as a mill town – was more than 50 years ago. My hotel is in an industrial park and four of the eight vehicles parked outside are motorcycles. My refrigerator was making a loud ticking noise (I changed rooms), the shower head is wobbling in the wall, and tonight my keycard didn’t work, but who cares!

I miss my family, but wow, it feels so good to change my routine and get some distance from all the things that make me crazy (even as I realize how trivial some of them are). The last time I went away for a couple of days I decided to start this blog, and came home determined to make some changes in my life, and I feel like I’ve made a pretty good run at it so far.

I hope inspiration strikes again on this trip, but in the meantime, I’ll just enjoy having someone else make the bed and clean the bathroom and luxuriate in a little order, serenity and peace of mind.

3 Responses to "Crisp Sheets, Soft Pillows and Fresh Towels"

Hotels are marvelous. When my oldest was a newborn, I was so overwhelmed and exhausted, and I had this fantasy of going to a hotel by myself for a couple of nights and SLEEPING. Of course I couldn’t b/c I was nursing her. By the time she weaned, I no longer felt that pressing need for solitude. But upon reading this… I envy you a little. 🙂

I’m starting to feel guilty about how much I’m enjoying the time alone! I think I need to find some ways to unwind more at home.

[…] My brother was critically ill, so this was far from a relaxing vacation. And as I mentioned in my post the other day, I’m staying in a very modest hotel, but it has seemed like […]

Leave a Reply

