One Bag Nation

What Works, What Doesn’t: My Notepad in the Car

Posted on: May 31, 2008

What Works? My habit of keeping a small notebook and pen in the car, in a little drawer that’s easy to reach from the driver’s seat.

All kinds of things come to mind when I’m driving: calls I need to make; something I need to pick up for dinner; upcoming birthdays; books or music I hear about on NPR; ideas for my “day job”; any number of household projects that need doing – and now of course, blog post ideas.

Without easy access to paper and pen, those to do’s might simply fall out of my head and be lost forever . . . but with my little notepad I’m all set. I just tear off the piece of paper I’ve written the note on and take it inside, where I add the item to my to do list. I make no promises about what happens after that. 😉

What Doesn’t Work? Sharing the pad or the pen with your children. Don’t give in – no matter how pitiful their cries – or you’ll never see that pad or pen again! and the next time you want to make a quick note, you’ll look like a contortionist, as you feel around the floor and between the seats in a desperate search . . . frustrating and dangerous!

4 Responses to "What Works, What Doesn’t: My Notepad in the Car"

OMG, I could have written this post.

Notepad and pen in the car – check.

NEVER AGAIN giving it to the kids – double check.

🙂

Glad I struck a chord, Vered! Hopefully other will heed our warning . . .

Hi Ann,

Haha. I have scraps of paper with all my notes on them, then I have to try and decipher what I wrote.

What I have found also works great in the car is to use the voice recorder on my cell phone. Instead of trying to drive and write, or pulling over to the side of the road, I talk into the recorder and then when I get home, transcribe my ideas.

It works real well when you’re stuck in traffic.

Oh, those scraps of paper will be the death of me – especially when I can’t read what I wrote! The phone is a good idea; I don’t know if mine works that way but I’ll check. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

