One Bag Nation

The Basement Report: It’s Working!

Posted on: June 18, 2008

Yesterday I needed a gift bag and some tissue paper for the end-of-year gift for my daughter’s teacher. A few weeks ago I probably would have just bought them new, rather than face the mess in my basement.

But this time, down I went, put my hand (almost) immediately on a pretty bag, quickly found some matching tissue and we were all set. I could get used to this!

We had a wonderful last day of kindergarten morning: the gift looked lovely, I wasn’t stressed and frustrated, and I gave myself a pat on the back for the work I’ve done to create some order and serenity for myself – and for my family.

If you’re facing a decluttering and organizing job that seems so overwhelming you can’t even start, try working just a little bit at a time. I’ve done all this organizing in just five-minute bites; I aim for five minutes every day – slow but steady – and I see the results.

Give it a try – the payoff of a small amount of time is enormous!

4 Responses to "The Basement Report: It’s Working!"

This is GREAT!

So glad your system is working and you actually see results.

Thanks Vered. I’m rather pleased myself!

And rightly so, Ann, you should be patting yourself on the back. Not only did you save time, you saved money too.

That’s a win-win!

Great job!

Thank you Barbara. I appreciate the support!

Leave a Reply

