One Bag Nation

My Daughter, the Efficiency Expert

Posted on: July 2, 2008

Today as we were driving to camp, my daughter noticed someone talking on their cell phone while crossing the street. She was scandalized (as only a 6-year-old can be) because it was unsafe to talk and cross at the same time (smart cookie).

I told her that yesterday morning while I was out walking I saw someone talking on their cell phone and that I thought it was strange to be on the phone that early while (presumably) exercising. There was a little pause, and then she said “well, you can get some phone calls done before your kids wake up”.

HAHAHA!! my productive and efficient daughter! I wonder if she’s been reading lifehack blogs when I’m not looking . . .

13 Responses to "My Daughter, the Efficiency Expert"

Hi Ann,

Kids say the darndest things (per Art Linkletter), don’t they! Six year olds ROCK! Enjoy this time in her and your life.

I remember driving my son to high school a few years ago and seeing kids on their cell phones as they walked or biked to school. And *I* was thinking, “Who could they be calling that early in the AM?” LOL

P.S. I really like your blog design — to carry over from the post at BWAB. 🙂

Hi Ann,

What a cute story.

Just in time for the new law that passed in California that you can’t drive and talk at the same time (unless you’re using a hands free device). I think Washington state has the same law.

Next will be walking and talking. Hehe. 🙂

She’s smart!!!

Vered & Barbara:
I don’t know what’s worse, worrying about people talking while driving, or having to listen to their inane conversations in public – on the bus, in a store, a restaurant, etc.

I hate cell phones. Aren’t home phones and answering machines enough? Who needs to be in constant contact all the time? They really are annoying. To everyone around.

Sorry about the rant.

Chase,
I’m not a committed cell phone user myself, but I have to admit, it comes in handy sometimes. I feel very awkward about using it while shopping, and I never use it while driving.

Hi Linda, I’m sorry, I didn’t see your comment earlier.

No doubt those high schoolers are all talking to each other!

Glad you like the design.

I’ve seen people on roller blades, walking their dogs, and talking on the cell phone all at once. Talk about multi-tasking. I would be splatted all over the sidewalk. Gatineau, Quebec, has just implemented the no cell phone while driving rule. Hands free will be tolerated. Thank goodness, I say! The number of times people have drifted into my lane because they are talking on the phone. And do we really need to be that connected all the time? I use about 5 minutes per month on mine. Generally one of my kids frustrated that they can’t track their mother down! LOL

Hi Ann: I guess she’s been listening to you planning everything you’ll try to accomplish before she gets up 🙂

Marelisa, I’m often teased for being a compulsive planner, so I guess it’s rubbed off . . .

thanks for visiting http://midlifebloggers.com If you’d like to join us, let me know.

Hi Urban Panther,
That driving and talking thing is really scary. I’m distracted enough without talking on the phone! Thanks for visiting and commenting!

Jane – thanks for the invitation!

Leave a Reply

