One Bag Nation

And a Partridge in a Pear Tree!

Posted on: October 22, 2008

This song was going around and around in my head as I collected stuff to take to the consignment store today. Among the treasures: two teething rings, which is how the tune started playing! (Is it in your head now?)

Today Community Services for the Blind picked up an enormous bag of clothes; tonight I washed out two sets of stacking cups, sorted blocks and Lincoln Logs and Tinker Toys, and all of that stuff will be out the door! I’d love to toss a couple dozen Polly Pockets (and their rubbery little clothes), but that would spell disaster!

I’ll post some photos of the piles later this week; perhaps they’ll inspire you to do some purging at your house!

4 Responses to "And a Partridge in a Pear Tree!"

It’s a great time of year to get rid of stuff…right before we’re about to get a whole bunch more this holiday season! Thanks for the inspiration. 🙂

I don’t want to be a troll, but I do want to point out that you will need to get your DD in the simplicity habit while she is young. If you want to have her out of the house while you purge things now you will continue to have trouble in the future.

Hi Ann: I purged my closet a couple of weeks ago. If I purge anymore I won’t have any clothes left and I won’t be able to leave my house 🙂

@Sarah Oh my gosh, I hope we don’t get too much more. I intend to pare it down a lot this year.

@Lois You have a very good point, and I’d also like her to know that some of her old things are going to families who can’t afford to buy everything they need or want.

@Marelisa Good for you! Because of my new job I’ve had to add a few things, but I’m trying hard to get rid of the stuff I no longer wear.

Leave a Reply

