One Bag Nation

You’ll Just Have to Take My Word for It!

Posted on: October 28, 2008

I forgot to take photographs of all the stuff we hauled out of the basement last week. For those of you who have a little time to kill, here’s the list – or what I can remember anyway – this is what I call decluttering!!

We started with a giant bag of clothing that Community Services for the Blind picked up.

The rest went to a consignment store where they will donate what they can’t sell to a local organization that supports foster children – perfect and easy.

The big things were two full-size rocking chairs (never used); one child-size rocking chair (never used); and a wooden rocking horse (not used for at least four years).

Then there were the dollhouse (we still have a nice wooden one); Lincoln Logs; pattern blocks, a “chest” full of dress-up clothes; a set of twin bed sheets; alphabet blocks; plain wooden blocks; several teething toys; a Baby Bjorn; and an electric bottle warmer (couldn’t have lived without that when we used it – highly recommended!)

My husband has promised to dispose of the computer, printer and monitor that have been down there for 3+ years, and I’m still chipping away at the clothing.

I had hoped to get a lot done today, but Vintage Girl is home sick with a fever, so I’ll have to tackle it another day. I know, most kids would happily sit in front of the TV, but she’s not most kids – at least in that regard. She has never enjoyed TV, but that’s another post on another blog!

4 Responses to "You’ll Just Have to Take My Word for It!"

OK, I’ll take your word for it, although a picture would have been nice 🙂 Sorry Vintage Girl is feeling sick, does she like comic books?

@Marelisa: I guess I got caught up in the excitement of getting it all out of here! Would a picture of what we take to the garbage dump help? 🙂

Hi Ann – What a great feeling that must have been. What are you going to do with all of the open space now?

Hi Barbara: we’re planning a playspace/art space for VG, more room for our (aging) exercise equipment and, I hope, a scrapbooking area for me. It’s so exciting!

Leave a Reply

