One Bag Nation

Mind Clutter: Doing Too Much, Moving Too Fast?

Posted on: May 6, 2008

I feel like I’m always in a rush. I feel like I’m always rushing my daughter. I feel like I’m always trying to do too much, and the result is predictable: something falls through the cracks.

Last week this bad habit came to light in a very embarassing way. I had a networking lunch with a woman I had never met before. We really hit it off, had a great meal and a great conversation, and decided we’d definitely keep in touch, perhaps even work together.

Hours later, when I was getting ready for bed, I looked in the mirror (which I obviously hadn’t done in the morning) and realized I was wearing two different earrings!! At first I got the giggles, then I was a little spooked; where in the world was my head?

I know exactly what happened: my earrings are in a little dish on the bathroom shelf; I grabbed two and put them in while doing twelve other things at the same time, dashed out the door and never looked back. As I write this, I realize I also did some shopping, and picked up my daughter from school. Oh my gosh! No one said a word.

What happened with my new friend? I emailed her and asked if she had noticed; she said yes and had decided I must have a rebellious streak – ha!ha! that was kind of her.

I don’t think you can run along the path to serenity, order and peace of mind . . . I think it’s time to slow down.

4 Responses to "Mind Clutter: Doing Too Much, Moving Too Fast?"

It could have been a lot worse; good on her for thinking good thoughts about you. I know what you mean it is hard to slow down

Thanks for sharing this experience! I myself think that such things happen when I am trying to do a few things at the same time and don’t concentrate at the thing I am doing at the moment.

@Sandra: you’re right, if that had been a formal job interview it would have been much worse!

@Ulla: I’m really trying to work on not multi-tasking all the time, but it’s hard. Thanks for visiting and commenting.

[…] at One Bag Nation discusses the problem of Mind Clutter and what you can do to help […]

Leave a comment